Video of the former Grand Trunk Pacific Railway-Lake Superior Division, Canadian Government Railways-Fort William Subdivision, Canadian National Railways-Fort William/Lake Superior/Graham/Crest Subdivision at Sistonens Corners, ON. Features the grade from the end of Grand Trunk/Forbes Road to Dog River Station/Junction as it parallels the Matawin River and passes through a very scenic part of the original grade that was abandoned in 1925 with many cuttings, ties still in their place and a set of very rare rail holders.
Extra Credit is video series that examines topics related to history in the Thunder Bay District and exploring that history.
This episode, the tenth in sub-series on the former Kinghorn Subdivision and Part 1 of 2, takes us to Pass Lake, Ontario and one of the most recognizable structures on the line. The Pass Lake-Blende River area has some unique geography and that influenced the route and construction of the Canadian Northern Railway. Forced by the Canadian Pacific Railway and the ridges of the Sibley Peninsula to hug the shore of Lake Superior and then through a narrow gap known as “The Pass,” the rail line had to cross the wide Blende River Valley. The result was a massive, 2258-foot long, 130-foot high steel viaduct, which remains the largest in central Canada. Our ride takes us from the site of Pass Lake Station west to the viaduct, including through a stretch where the rails remain in place.
Then and now featuring the former Grand Trunk Pacific Lake Superior Division/CNR Graham Subdivision bridge over the Dog River in Kaministiquia, ON. Constructed in 1910 to replace a previous structure, the combination trestle/span bridge was 350 feet long and 30 feet high.
Sadly, the bridge’s demise came in 1925. The previous year, Canadian National had rerouted its lines in the area, which resulted in the abandonment of 28 miles of then Graham Subdivision, including the bridge and the adjacent station at Dona. According to some sources, the bridge was dismantled and reused somewhere in Saskatchewan.
Today, all that remains of the bridge are the three massive concrete piers that supported the two centre spans of the bridge. Despite suffering the ravages of the elements for the past 100 years, the piers, especially those on the rivers banks, will likely continue to serve as silent reminders of the trains that once thundered across its length for a long time to come.
Dog River Bridge, 1910. (LAC PA-021886)A westbound train pushes past Dona Station over the bridge, undated.Dog River Bridge, 1910. (LAC PA-021883)Dog River Bridge piers, May 2024.Dog River Bridge piers, October 2019.Dog River Bridge piers, May 2024.
Video of the former Grand Trunk Pacific Railway-Lake Superior Division, Canadian Government Railways-Fort William Subdivision, Canadian National Railways-Fort William/Lake Superior/Graham/Crest Subdivision at Kaministiquia, ON. Features the grade along Grand Trunk/Forbes Road with a large rock cut, remains of a slow order bridge, site of a former concrete culvert and views of the Matawin River.
Video of the former Grand Trunk Pacific Railway-Lake Superior Division, Canadian Government Railways-Fort William Subdivision, Canadian National Railways-Fort William/Lake Superior/Graham/Crest Subdivision at Kaministiquia, ON. Features the grade along Ellis and Grand Trunk/Forbes Road with the remains of the Dona Pit, as well as large embankments and cuttings.
Video of the former Grand Trunk Pacific Railway-Lake Superior Division, Canadian Government Railways-Fort William Subdivision, Canadian National Railways-Fort William/Lake Superior/Graham/Crest Subdivision at Kaministiquia, ON. Features the grade from the north bank of the Dog River where a 350-foot bridge once crossed along a large embankment to where it meets Ellis Road.
Then and now photos featuring Dona Station, which was situated in modern Kaministiquia, Ontario. Dona came into existence with the opening on the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway Lake Superior Branch/Division in 1908. Located 26 miles from then Fort William (now Thunder Bay), it was the “D” station in GTP’s alphabetical naming pattern.
As the first major station outside of Fort William, Dona was home to a GTP Type “E” station, a section house, water tank, 2956-foot siding and 723-foot spur. Sadly, Dona and three other stations (Alba, Baird and Crest), along with 28 miles of track were abandoned in 1925 when CN rerouted its lines in the area.
Today, the site of the station has been obliterated by the modern Silver Falls Road. However, the concrete foundations of the section house and water tank remain, silent reminders of the trains that once rolled though the area.
Historic photos courtesy of Archives & Digital Collections at Lakehead University Library
Dona Station, undated. (Archives & Digital Collections at Lakehead University Library)Dona Station, undated. (Archives & Digital Collections at Lakehead University Library)Dona Section House, undated. (Archives & Digital Collections at Lakehead University Library)Dona Water Tank, undated. (Archives & Digital Collections at Lakehead University Library)Dona Station, April 2024.Dona Station, April 2024.Dona Station, April 2024.Dona Station section house, April 2024.Dona Station, April 2024.Dona Water Tank, April 2024.Dona Water Tank, April 2024.
Video of the former Grand Trunk Pacific Railway-Lake Superior Division, Canadian Government Railways-Fort William Subdivision, Canadian National Railways-Fort William/Lake Superior/Graham/Crest Subdivision at Kaministiquia, ON. Features the remains of the 350 foot long, 30 foot tall bridge over the Dog River. Constructed circa 1910, it replaced an earlier structure, likely a wood trestle. The bridge was composed of trestle portions on the river banks with two centre truss spans supported by 3 concrete piers. When this section of the line was abandoned in 1925, the bridge was apparently dismantled and shipped to Saskatchewan.
Video of the former Grand Trunk Pacific Railway-Lake Superior Division, Canadian Government Railways-Fort William Subdivision, Canadian National Railways-Fort William/Lake Superior/Graham/Crest Subdivision at Kaministiquia, ON. Features the grade along Silver Falls Road with rock cuts, an unusual mystery foundation and the remains of the section house and water tank at Dona Station.
Video of the former Grand Trunk Pacific Railway-Lake Superior Division, Canadian Government Railways-Fort William Subdivision, Canadian National Railways-Fort William/Lake Superior/Graham/Crest Subdivision at Kaministiquia, ON. Features the grade from Highway 102 west/northward to Silver Falls Road with several large rock cuts and the remains of Dona Station.